• No shipping costs from € 15, -
  • Lists and tips from our own specialists
  • Possibility of ordering without an account
  • No shipping costs from € 15, -
  • Lists and tips from our own specialists
  • Possibility of ordering without an account

The Last Survivor

Frank , Krake

The Last Survivor
The Last Survivor

The Last Survivor

Frank , Krake

Paperback | English
  • Available, delivery time 4-6 weeks.
  • Not in stock in our shop
€17.50
  • From €15,- no shipping costs.
  • 30 days to change your mind and return physical products

Description

'This is an extraordinary biography. A gripping narrative that opens as derring-do wartime escape drama rapidly turns into a horror story about man's inhumanity to man...Important and unforgettable' Jonathan Dimbleby, bestselling author

The international bestseller that is perfect for readers of Last Stop Auschwitz, The Volunteer and The Tattooist of Auschwitz.


----

The awe-inspiring and gripping true story of the young man who survived not one, but three concentration camps, only - in the final days of the war - to be bombed while aboard a Nazi prison boat.

Stowed away on top of a train, twenty-year-old Wim Aloserij escapes the obligatory work camps in Nazi-ruled Germany in 1943. The young man from Amsterdam then goes into hiding on a farm - sleeping for months in a wooden chest hidden underground. But it's not to last.

In the cover of night, Wim is captured during a raid and transported to the infamous Gestapo prison in Amsterdam. There, his life changes forever as he is thrown into the nightmare of the Holocaust and transported to Camp Amersfoort - the first of three concentration camps he must endure.

Drawing on the lessons he learned as a child as the victim of an alcoholic and abusive father, Wim is forced to adapt quickly and urgently to his hellish surroundings. However, it is with the end of the war in sight, that Wim must draw on every last strength he has when he finds himself caught in the very centre of Allied-Nazi crossfire.

At the age of 94, Wim finally felt ready to tell his incredible story, which he kept secret for most of his life. A true story of bravery, courage and resilience, The Last Survivor is a compelling, life-affirming read that will make you gasp but also leave you amazed by one young man's determination - against the odds - to survive.



Frank Krake is an established speaker and writer who is fascinated by remarkable stories in modern history. He has written five books during the last decade and he met Wim Aloserij - whose story is told in The Last Survivor - during a book talk. This chance meeting led to the beginning of an remarkable relationship where Wim entrusted Frank with the job of putting his extraordinary life to paper. Through a combination of interviews, trips to the concentration camps Wim survived and historical grounds mentioned in the book along with comprehensive research in international archives, Frank was able to create a compelling, true-to-life account of Wim's story.

Specifications

  • Publisher
    Orion
  • Pub date
    Oct 2021
  • Theme
    True stories of heroism, endurance and survival
  • Dimensions
    232 x 151 x 27 mm
  • Weight
    408 gram
  • EAN
    9781841885278
  • Paperback
    Paperback
  • Language
    English

related products

Landlijnen

Landlijnen

Raynor Winn
€23.99
Heldendaad in de Sahara

Heldendaad in de Sahara

Eddy van der Ley
€22.99
Het wel en wee van een wonder

Het wel en wee van een wonder

Nel Nederlof
€22.50
Drugs achter het gordijn

Drugs achter het gordijn

Maartje Krul
€22.50
Broei

Broei

Max Bartels
€27.50
De achterblijvers

De achterblijvers

Flip Maarschalkerweerd
€29.95