• No shipping costs from € 15, -
  • Lists and tips from our own specialists
  • Possibility of ordering without an account
  • No shipping costs from € 15, -
  • Lists and tips from our own specialists
  • Possibility of ordering without an account

We Had To Remove This Post

Hanna Bervoets

We Had To Remove This Post
We Had To Remove This Post
We Had To Remove This Post

We Had To Remove This Post

Hanna Bervoets

Paperback | English
  • Available, delivery time is 4-5 working days
  • Not in stock in our shop
€16.95
  • From €15,- no shipping costs.
  • 30 days to change your mind and return physical products

Description

For readers of Leila Slimani’s Lullaby or Ling Ma’s Severance: a tight, propulsive, chilling novel by a rising international star.

Acid-dipped novella . . . a glimpse of the foetid underbelly of the internet and a sobering consideration of who is deciding what we see, and at what cost.

A chilling page-turner . . . the unreliable narrator gives it a strong literary heartbeat — and it’s richly suspenseful too. With a few deft strokes [Bervoets] manages to incorporate all of the ills of social media into one concise story . . . utterly haunting.

The setting alone is compelling and has always been in need of an accomplished novelist’s attention . . . The dreamlike climax of the final pages is beautifully wrought. Men might usefully confront in Bervoets a writerly intelligence at once so tender and so willing to look into the abyss.

Bervoets' neat dissection of morality is as taut as a thriller, sharp as a slug of ice-cold vodka.

Surprising and enigmatic . . . intriguing and frustrating . . . As we spend more and more time in the trickmirror of the internet, how can we know what or whom to believe?

A very modern tale about the dark side of the internet.

Hanna Bervoet's slim, compelling novel We Had to Remove This Post addresses the foetid morass of social media . . . Bevoets is often acidly funny, especially when demonstraring the workers' mordant, jockish humour.

The dank underside of social media, its cruelty and delusions . . . Hanna Bervoets has richly obliged in this superbly poised, psychologically astute and subtle novel of mental unravelling.

Extremely gripping and intense edgy queer novel

This novel gives us an acid glimpse into a new form of labor existing today, a job that extracts an immeasurable psychic toll. Fascinating and disturbing.

An astonishing and compelling cast of characters, drawn together through circumstance, separated by the same. The novel is fast paced and thrilling, violent and nightmarish and grief-stricken, but also tender and wildly moving.

I thought it was incredible and has real cult potential.

Powerful, discussable, and a harbinger of a voice-in-translation to watch.

Scathing, darkly humorous exploration of the impact of VR, IR . . . Bervoets just gets it. This is, unironically, a novel for our time.

Magnetic . . . Bervoets frames the story like a mystery, slowly revealing the fractured relationships and circumstances that drove Kayleigh away from her job.

Hanna Bervoets is one of the most acclaimed Dutch writers of her generation. She is the author of several novels in her home country of the Netherlands, and she has also written screenplays, plays, short stories, and essays. She is the recipient of many literary awards, including the prestigious Frans Kellendonk Prize for her entire body of work. She was a resident at Art Omi: Writers at Ledig House, New York, and works and lives in Amsterdam with her girlfriend and two guinea pigs. We Had to Remove This Post has been translated into thirteen languages and is her first book to be translated into English.

Specifications

  • Publisher
    Picador
  • Translator
    Emma Rault
  • Pub date
    May 2022
  • Pages
    144
  • Theme
    Modern and contemporary fiction
  • Dimensions
    215 x 135 x 15 mm
  • Weight
    164 gram
  • EAN
    9781529087239
  • Paperback
    Paperback
  • Language
    English

related products

De onbedoelden

De onbedoelden

Cobi van Baars
€22.99
Caledonian Road

Caledonian Road

Andrew O'Hagan
€27.50
Waar ik liever niet aan denk

Waar ik liever niet aan denk

Jente Posthuma
€22.99
Je bent hier

Je bent hier

David Nicholls
€22.99